*New Release* Eddie Vedder: ‘Ukulele Songs’

Release date: May 31, 2011

01. Cant Keep
02. Sleeping by Myself
03. Without You
04. More Than You Know
05. Goodbye
06. Broken Heart
07. Satellite
08. Longing to Belong
09. Hey Fahkah
10. You’re True
11. Light Today
12. Sleepless Nights
13. Once in a While
14. Waving Palms
15. Tonight You Belong To Me
16. Dream A Little Dream

My favorite tune: Hey Fahkah (or is it ‘hey fucker’, Mr.Vedder?)

When Cobain lambasted Ten as a sell-out, we were like “What the hell are you talking about, Kurt??”
Now two decades later, imagine Eddie stands in some street corner laying down a straw hat in the sidewalk, strums his uke, sings two-minutee easy listening songs.
His music is becoming irrelevant; insignificant. Whether he was an MTV huge grunge idol on a big stage, or in a movie soundtrack, or on a beach somewhere in fantasy Honolulu: Anybody can do this. Heck, a guy with a few ukulele chops will do!
Yes he has that legendary charismatic voice, it might be entertaining as a live show, but is it worth our time as an LP? Sure it’s ‘anti-commercial’ but this is also becoming a ‘meaningless’ musical piece. If he doesn’t really want us to buy this album, then what should we do after the last song ends? Clapping hands, dig our pockets, and throw some imaginary spare change?

My Rating: 3/10


2 thoughts on “*New Release* Eddie Vedder: ‘Ukulele Songs’

  1. Really interesting what he’s doing.
    Always had mad respect for Vedder.

    I used to play in a band where we did a lot of his obscure solo stuff haha. Didn’t do too well with those tunes.

    I like this album though.

    Thanks for the post!

    • Nothing’s horrible about the album’s musical context, I don’t mind Vedder’s song picks or his using of ukulele itself, but in my opinion it will be much better as a live performance recording, or even greater: as ‘rare bootleg tape’:)
      That way, it would be ‘art’, not just another common ‘anti-commercialism’.
      Thanks a lot for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s