Zola Jesus: ‘Conatus’

Release date: October 4

01. Swords
02. Avalanche
03. Vessel
04. Hikikomori
05. Ixode
06. Seekir
07. In Your Nature
08. Lick The Palm Of The Burning Handshake
09. Shivers
10. Skin
11. Collapse

My favorite tune: Collapse

The only achilles’s heel in Zola Jesus, ironically, is Nika Danilova’s vocal. It’s not bad-bad, but at the same time just isn’t that good. We’ve obviously heard much better in electronica. Nobody recommends auto-tuning here, perhaps more reverb and echo effects in the final audio mix will make a difference. For someone who once made a song titled ‘Lady in the Radiator’ it’s damn sure she can do a lot better!

My Rating: 6/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s