2011 Man Booker Prize: The Sense of An Ending

The Sense of An Ending

And that’s a life, isn’t it? Some achievements and some disappointments. It’s been interesting to me, though I wouldn’t complain or be amazed if others found it less so. Maybe, in a way, Adrian knew what he was doing. Not that I would have missed my own life for anything, you understand.
I survived. ‘He survived to tell the tale’ – that’s what people say, don’t they? History isn’t the lies of the victors, as I once glibly assured Old Joe Hunt; I know that now. It’s more the memories of the survivors, most of whom are neither victorious nor defeated.

It was almost unfair for the other Booker Prize finalists. Hey judges, it wasn’t really a competition, Barnes is the clear winner. This is a perfect example of  writing at its best.

>>>Check out my other reviews on 2011 Man Booker Prize Shortlist books:
Half Blood Blues

Snowdrops

The Sisters Brothers
Pigeon English
Jamrach’s Menagerie

Leave a Reply

