Xiu Xiu: ‘Always’

Release date: March 6

01. Hi
02. Joey’s Song
03. Beauty Towne
04. Honeysuckle
05. I Luv Abortion
06. The Oldness
07. Chimneys Afire
08. Gul Mudin
09. Born to Suffer
10. Factory Girls
11. Smear the Queen
12. Black Drum Machine

My favorite tune: Born to Suffer

Believe it or not, this is their eleventh album. Like an incongruent operatic blend of Joy Division, The Smiths, Kraftwerk, REM, Nine Inch Nails, and… Safri Duo, Jamie Stewart’s songs might be simple but nothing near simplistic: they are simply chaotic. Yes, the world needs more strange, extreme, eccentric musicians. The world needs Xiu Xiu to fight pop music boredom.

My Rating: 7/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s