Alanis Morissette: ‘Havoc and Bright Lights’

Release date: August 28

01. Guardian
02. Woman Down
03. Til You
04. Celebrity
05. Empathy
06. Lens
07. Spiral
08. Numb
09. Havoc
10. Win and Win
11. Receive
12. Edge of Evolution

My favorite tune: Havoc

Alanis has travelled so far from ‘the Canadian Debbie Gibson’, to alt-music angst queen, to this subdued, matured state. But she still can write decent listenable songs (with a lot of thank-yous in it).
Havoc and Bright Lights is a more emotionally levelled, less heartbreak album with similar concept and similar sound to Flavors of Entanglement, another ‘economical’ recording effort with programmed drum machine and synth electric guitars. It was a logical choice in the sales downtrend era back in 2008, and a very logical choice now four years later when Alanis is officialy not an A-list major label artist anymore. And economical certainly doesn’t mean crap.

My Rating: 6/10


2 thoughts on “Alanis Morissette: ‘Havoc and Bright Lights’

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s