Deftones: ‘Koi No Yokan’

Release date: November 13

01. Swerve City
02. Romantic Dreams
03. Leathers
04. Poltergeist
05. Entombed
06. Graphic Nature
07. Tempest
08. Gauze
09. Rosemary
10. Goon Squad
11. What Happened to You?

My favorite tune: Entombed

More textured than their previous monochromatic ‘Diamond Eyes’, ‘Koi No Yokan’ is Deftones‘ seventh studio album, and they have been around for seventeen years, basically never altered their trademark sound. But what exactly is keeping their new materials from becoming old, boring, and repetitive? Their main secret is: elusiveness. Deftones songs are always a constant switch around between hardness and softness, between shouts and whispers. And they’re so very masterful in teasing and tossing their listeners on that grey area somewhere between.

My Rating: 8/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s