Soundgarden: ‘King Animal’

Release date: November 13

01. Been Away Too Long
02. Non-State Actor
03. By Crooked Steps
04. A Thousand Days Before
05. Blood on the Valley Floor
06. Bones of Birds
07. Taree
08. Attrition
09. Black Saturday
10. Halfway There
11. Worse Dreams
12. Eyelid’s Mouth
13. Rowing

My favorite tune: By Crooked Steps

It has been sixteen years. Yes, you’ve been away too long, guys. The first two songs in the playlist are certainly surprising. What’s with this softer guitar and drums sound? But, ah, at least Soundgarden comes back to their senses, in ‘By Crooked Steps’ and that signature high notes-low notes Cornell vocals in ‘Blood On The Valley Floor’, for a while. After that, far, far, too many down tempo songs. So this is the ‘Elderly Soundgarden’ sounds like? Isn’t it, especially in ‘Black Saturday’, ‘Halfway There’, and ‘Worse Dreams’, just a bit too similar to…Pearl Jam?

My Rating: 6/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s